God’s Love Language

I was making scrambled eggs for 40 people when I realized God must have 5 love languages.

I have the tendency to be an internal processer, which means I’m constantly wrestling with ideas when I’m doing things like washing dishes and cleaning. This time God spoke to me through scrambled eggs.  

I suddenly undertood that if God has designed each human being to be a respresentation of Him, and he designed us to receive and give love through 5 languages (see The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman), then GOD MUST RECEIVE AND GIVE LOVE IN A SIMILAR WAY!  After this realization, I believe that this idea of love languages can be a huge breakthrough for my faith.  This is something I understood personally, maybe it won’t make sense to anyone else but it works for me. 🙂

In my life, I have gone through stages where I don’t “feel” connected to God.  Maybe I’m going through a tough season and he feels distant.  Maybe things are going great and I have forgotten about God in the midst of worldly success.  I now understand that in the same way I need to intentionally speak my husband’s love language in order for him to feel loved, I need to be intentional in showing God Iove Him!  It may not happen automatically.  This is what this may look like in my life…..

Acts of Service: Serving others for God’s glory is a channel for me to express my love to God and to receive His love for me.

Words of Affirmation:  Reading God’s word and prayer to find out what He says about who I am and then responding to Him is another channel for me to express my love to God and to receive His love for me.  This is why worship is a great way to connect with God.

Gifts: Being generous with what God has given me to bless others is a great way to express my love to God.  Allowing Him to provide for others through my life is a way to love Him and recognizing that He proprovided for me because He loves me.

Quality Time: I spend quality time with God while in prayer, by reading my Bible, going to church-doing anything where I’m engaged with Him.

Physical Touch: I have had moments in my life where I was in desperate need of a hug or a pat on the back.  And suddenly the person I least expected to notice, came up to me and gave me a hug.  I have also been on the other side when I felt I needed to embrace someone, which I don’t do very often, and afterwards they have told me that they really needed it.
When I share God’s love with others, no matter which form it takes, I am showing love to God as well. 

Leave a Reply

