The Power of Words

In February, my hubby and I sat down on the couch to watch the movie “He Named Me Malala.”  My husband began to explain to me the basic plot of the movie and he was left in shock as he quickly realized I had never heard of the young girl named Malala.

That night was the first time I learned who Malala is and what she had done to change the world.  Malala is a young Muslim girl who stood up to the Taliban-fighting them with just her words.  Her words were those of empowerment as she gave a voice to young girls who were being denied an education.

Malala was only 15 when a gunman shot her in the face while she was on the school bus. At 15 years old her voice became infamous and known around the world.

image

After watching the movie, I decided to read her book. I Am Malala is a motivational story for anyone who believes they are too young or too weak for anyone to hear their voice. Malala is the youngest person to receive the Nobel Peace Prize.

I also loved Malala’s story because it was a window into a world that is different than mine. She is from a different culture and religion so her eyes see things in a different light than mine do.

Looking through her eyes gave me a person and a name to be the face of Islam. I consider it a great privilege to be one step closer to understanding a religion that is not my own.

This is a privilege because it helps me be more compassionate and respectful of other people. I may not agree with all of Islam’s beliefs, but I can still be respectful.

JESUS CHRIST LOVED AND REPECTED THOSE WHO WERE DIFFERENT THAN HIM AND IT IS MY GOAL TO DO THE SAME.

2 thoughts on “The Power of Words

    • Yes, sometimes it is difficult but we must try to follow his example. I think the biggest barrier to loving those who are different from us is that it takes time get to know them so we can truly love them. People don’t want to take the time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

