Delight Yourself In The Lord

image

Psalm 37:4 which says, “Delight yourself in The Lord and He will give you  the desires of your heart” has been one of my favorite Bible verses of the last decade.  The interesting thing is how the meaning has changed over the years. 

When I first began to memorize this verse, (proof of my love for it since I don’t memorize many verses) I liked it because I wanted God to give me the desires of my heart.  I wanted many things like a career, husband and lots of other things.  I thought this verse was confirming that God would take care of my long list of desires.

A decade later I love this verse even more because God has revealed the fuller meaning to my heart.  He has taught me that it isn’t about me and my desires.  IT IS ABOUT DRAWING CLOSE TO GOD SO THAT MY DESIRES ARE HIS DESIRES, and then He will fulfill them in the perfect timing.  It’s not about me, but about a Father who has better plans and desires for me then those I can imagine for myself and the only way to know what those plans and desire are is by spending time with Him so he can share his dreams with me.

2 thoughts on “Delight Yourself In The Lord

Leave a Reply

