God Isn’t Afraid of My Questions

 

If God isn’t afraid of my questions, my doubts or my frustrations, why is it that I hesitate so long in going to Him for the answers, peace and patience that I need on a regular basis?!?  Maybe this is one more area where I need to be like a child in my faith.

One of the things I have a love-hate relationship with is my kids’ questions.  I love the fact that they see the world with so much curiosity and they haven’t yet learned that they should be embarrassed because they don’t know everything.  I love that they haven’t learned that the world tells us that asking questions is a sign of weakness.  I love that they are just so thirsty for knowledge and understanding that it seems they can ask hundreds of questions in one day -which leads to why I hate their questions.

As a parent I feel tired after a long day and I sometimes lose my patience to explain and give answers to their hundreds of questions.  I also feel fear because I may not have an answer for them. Really! How do I explain to my three year old why there are stars in the sky?  There are also times where I want to shelter them from the truth and knowledge that comes with some of their questions.

In my faith, I have an idea about my Heavenly Father that I haven’t really processed or even realized I have in my heart.  I know it must be true because of my hesitation to go to Him for all I need.  I believe that He will react the same way to my questions, and doubts like I do to my kids.  I believe He will be too tired to answer all my questions after a long day.  I believe He may not have answers to my questions.  Of course my head knows these are crazy beliefs because my head knows that my Heavenly Father doesn’t get tired from answering my questions and He is never too tired to spend time with me.  My head also knows that He knows the answers to ALL of my questions.  SO WHY DO I STILL HESITATE TO GO TO HIM?  The knowledge I have in my head, sometimes has a hard time travelling to my heart!

I must take the risk and go to Him and EXPERIENCE his love for me, even in my doubts and frustrations. I must accept His love just like the little children.  I am reminded of a common passage in the Bible where the adults are concerned that the children are bothering Jesus.  Jesus tells the adults to leave the children alone.  They were responding the correct way and the parents should follow suit.  It is the same for us today.  We need to go to Him fearlessly knowing that He wants to take care of our questions, doubts and frustrations.

Luke 18:15-17 [Full Chapter]

[ Jesus Blesses the Children ] One day some parents brought their littlechildren to Jesus so he could touch and bless them. But when the disciples saw this, they scolded the parents for bothering him. Then Jesus called for the children and said to the disciples, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of God belongs to those who are like thesechildren. I tell you the truth, anyone who doesn’t receive the Kingdom of God like a child will never enter it.”
3 thoughts on “God Isn’t Afraid of My Questions

Leave a Reply

