The Great Adventure

229483_5691760588_7470_nThis month I’m fortunate to be celebrating my 10th wedding anniversary!  It is hard to believe that it has been 10 years.  As any married person knows, there are days where I think, “Wow!  The time went by so fast!”  Yet there are other days when I think, “Wow!  I can’t believe we made it this far!”  It is crazy because marriage is filled with ups and downs, good times and bad times.

Recently, a friend asked me, “What is your favorite thing about being married?”  It took me a minute to respond but I finally said, “It is great to have someone to journey through life with.  To know that no matter what happens we are in this together.”  Anyone who knows my husband and I, has already seen the way my hubby challenges me to grow as a person.  I’m not talking about the typical answers of patience or self-control, although any married person gets practice with those things as well.  No, I am talking about a man who challenges me to take risks and go on adventures that I would NEVER do alone.  Naturally I am not a risk taker.  I need to have everything calculated so I can make a detailed plan of how things should go.  Being spontaneous is not in my nature.  Being spontaneous is the DNA of who my husband is.  He is the gas pedal and I am the break.  He is a cheetah and I am a sloth.  I think you get the idea. 🙂

 

This is so similar to my relationship with my Heavenly Father!  Many times in life he has asked me to take a leap of faith, to do something with out having all the details figured out.  Many times it seems financially difficult.  It causes me to stress out about how it would affect my family.  It is so hard at times to remember that God also wants to take me on great adventures.  I need to take my foot off the break and step on the accelerator.

I’m truly blessed to have a hubby who helps me accelerate when I can’t do it alone.  I have a great companion in this Great Adventure!  I can’t wait to see where God will take us next!

Isaiah 41:13 (NIV)

For I am the Lord your God
who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
I will help you.

 

11275512_10153175449215589_610663492_o

I would love to hear stories about how you have stepped out in courage!  Let’s encourage each other by commenting about the great things God has done in our lives or the adventures we are getting ready for.

2 thoughts on “The Great Adventure

Leave a Reply

